An easy walk that combines majestic views with a bit of history and religion.
Its position on the promontory makes it clearly visible even from afar. Strange that a church was built right up there. In reality, a castle once stood on the hill above the inhabited area: it was built by Mainardo II, Count of Tirolo around 1276 and demolished in 1310. The village of Castello di Fiemme derives its name from that manor. The church of San Giorgio (now dedicated to the Immaculate Conception of Lourdes) is actually the small church on the left of the parish church. Both places of worship also stand out in the evening thanks to lighting that enhances their shapes and position.
If you have a little more time, take a walk in the small streets under the promontory to discover the facades of some historic houses.
AuthorStaff Outdoor Val di Fiemme ND
Updated: December 24, 2020
Getting thereHead towards the hospital and then towards the Cavalese football field.
ParkingSeveral parking spaces at the football field.
32T 689007 5128775
Author’s map recommendations
EquipmentHiking shoes and warm winter clothes.
For changing the range of view, push the arrows together.